Skip to main content

Campus/Community Planning Committee


The Campus/Community Planning Committee advises the chancellor through the Vice Chancellor – Operations Management and Capital Programs regarding the physical development of the La Jolla campus, Elliott Field Station and the surrounding community. Its actions are informed by the Open Space Committee (OSC) for public realm projects. See CCPC meeting information.

The membership comprises seven campus administrative and six faculty members, undergraduate and graduate student representatives and a representative from the Staff Association. The Director of Physical Planning serves as an ex-officio Executive to the Committee.

The committee will perform these specific functions:

  1. Review sites proposed by Project Work Groups or other committees for planned facilities, and advise the Chancellor of UC San Diego through the Vice Chancellor – Operations Management and Capital Programs in regard to conformance with approved plans and concepts;
  2. Review and advise the Chancellor of University California, San Diego through the Vice Chancellor – Operations Management and Capital Programs with respect to long range physical planning issues and planning studies;
  3. Comment to the Design Review Board regarding designs of buildings and major landscape projects;
  4. Monitor developments in the surrounding community and evaluate potential impacts on the university to ensure that campus interests including nearby housing, retail services, open spaces and parks, pedestrian and vehicular access and mass transit needs, are adequately considered.

The Executive to the Committee performs these functions:

  1. Works closely with the co-chairs for all duties associated with committee meetings, agendas and presentations;
  2. Serves as the liaison for the Committee with other campus administrative areas;
  3. With concurrence from the co-chairs, and discussion with the Campus Architect, approves those physical development action items involving temporary changes on the campus, in addition to minor permanent changes that do not involve the siting of new permanent facilities and structures.

Committee Members

See the current member list.


Contact Marie-Pierre Murry, (858) 534-6821.